OMPW

News Stories

Main Content

Recent News Stories from the Office of Mississippi Physician Workforce

Mississippi Scholarship Program Targets Rural Physician Shortage

Thursday, April 14, 2022

Mississippi Rural Physicians Scholarship Program tackles the state's shortage of medical providers, one rural doctor at a time. Read more hereRead More

Lawmakers aim for more emergency rooms in rural Mississippi

Tuesday, April 5, 2022

Mississippi lawmakers have approved a bill aimed at bolstering health care in rural Mississippi. Read More

Mississippi Medical Students Participate in 2022 MATCH Ceremonies

Last week, medical students at the University of Mississippi Medical Center (UMMC) and William Carey University College of Osteopathic Medicine (WCUCOM) discovered which residency training programs they will attend as they begin their careers as new physicians.

Published on Wednesday, March 23, 2022

State Health Officer to Resign in July

Today, the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH) announces that State Health Officer Thomas Dobbs, MD, MPH, will resign from his position at the end of July 2022.

Published on Tuesday, March 8, 2022

COVID-19 Testing Health Centers Update

As part of the Biden Administration's "Path Out of the Pandemic" COVID-19 Action Plan, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) in partnership with the Department of Defense is making available to all HRSA-supported health centers (including look-alikes), as well as Medicare-certified rural health clinics, free COVID-19 testing supplies, authorized by the FDA for emergency use.

Published on Thursday, March 3, 2022

Mississippi awarded nearly 32 million dollars for broadband infrastructure expansion

The National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) awarded nearly $32.7 million to the State of Mississippi for broadband infrastructure expansion in ten counties throughout the state. As a result of these grants, which are a part of the Broadband Infrastructure Program, broadband will be brought to 12,487 underserved households across Mississippi.

Published on Tuesday, March 1, 2022

‘Life-changing’ scholarships awarded to future doctors committed to rural health care

Published on Monday, February 21, 2022

State Board of Education Awards UMMC Grant to Create Telehealth System within K-12 Schools

Published on Friday, February 18, 2022

Mississippi becomes the 37th state to legalize medical marijuana

Published on Thursday, February 3, 2022

HHS announces 100 million in funding to support primary care workforce in underserved communities

Published on Thursday, October 14, 2021

New Partnership to reopen Quitman Community Hospital after being closed for nearly 5 years

Published on Friday, September 10, 2021

Delta Health System to receive health literacy grant to tackle COVID-19 Spread

Published on Wednesday, August 11, 2021

UMMC to require COVID-19 vaccinations for employees and students

Published on Friday, July 16, 2021

MS small rural hospitals to receive over 12-million for COVID response efforts

Published on Wednesday, July 14, 2021

New hospital to open in Senatobia, Mississippi this month

Published on Monday, July 12, 2021

Physician Work Hours Significantly Declined Since Start of COVID-19

Published on Thursday, June 24, 2021

Barrasso, Cortez Masto Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Expand Access to Physician Training

Published on Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Bipartisan Bill Introduced to Address Physician Shortage in Rural and Underserved Areas

Published on Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Rush Health Systems to Join Ochsner Health

Published on Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Mississippi State Hospital Launches New Psychiatry Residency Program

Published on Friday, June 18, 2021

Family Medicine Residency Program Accredited at Memorial Hospital Gulfport

Published on Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Internal Medicine Residency Program Accredited at Baptist Memorial Hospital

Published on Friday, January 29, 2021

Rep. Sam Mims Awarded State Legislator of the Year by Rural Health Association

Published on Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Free COVID-19 Testing Available at Scheduled Locations across Mississippi

Published on Monday, November 16, 2020

Rural renewal: Small-town medicine delivers for Indianola doc

Published on Monday, November 2, 2020