OMPW

News Stories

Main Content

Recent News Stories from the Office of Mississippi Physician Workforce

HHS announces 100 million in funding to support primary care workforce in underserved communities

Thursday, October 14, 2021

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is announcing the availability of $100 million in American Rescue Plan (ARP) funding for state-run programs that support, recruit, and retain primary care clinicians who live and work in underserved communities. This funding represents a five-fold increase to the Health Resources and Services Administration’s (HRSA) State Loan Repayment Program (SLRP), and helps improve health equity by ensuring that clinicians working in high-need communities remain in them. Read More

New Partnership to reopen Quitman County Hospital after being closed for nearly 5 years

Friday, September 10, 2021

For nearly five years, the people in Marks, MS and Quitman County have been at least 30 minutes away from receiving emergency healthcare. Read More

Delta Health System to receive health literacy grant to tackle COVID-19 Spread

Delta Health System has received a federal grant that will work to improve health literacy and enhance vaccination across the Delta.

Published on Wednesday, August 11, 2021

UMMC to require COVID-19 vaccinations for employees and students

The University of Mississippi Medical Center is implementing a new COVID-19 vaccination policy that requires all employees and students to be fully vaccinated or wear an N95 mask while at a UMMC facility or clinic.

Published on Friday, July 16, 2021

MS small rural hospitals to receive over 12-million for COVID response efforts

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) through the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) is providing Mississippi with $12,918,800 to support COVID response efforts in rural areas.

Published on Wednesday, July 14, 2021

New hospital to open in Senatobia, Mississippi this month

Delta Health System, has announced plans to open the Highland Hills Medical Center in Senatobia, Mississippi at the end of July. Staff are preparing the facility for a July 29th soft opening. The grand opening is planned for September.

Published on Monday, July 12, 2021

Physician Work Hours Significantly Declined Since Start of COVID-19

Published on Thursday, June 24, 2021

Barrasso, Cortez Masto Introduce Bipartisan Bill to Expand Access to Physician Training

Published on Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Bipartisan Bill Introduced to Address Physician Shortage in Rural and Underserved Areas

Published on Wednesday, June 23, 2021

Rush Health Systems to Join Ochsner Health

Published on Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Mississippi State Hospital Launches New Psychiatry Residency Program

Published on Friday, June 18, 2021

Family Medicine Residency Program Accredited at Memorial Hospital Gulfport

Published on Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Internal Medicine Residency Program Accredited at Baptist Memorial Hospital

Published on Friday, January 29, 2021

Rep. Sam Mims Awarded State Legislator of the Year by Rural Health Association

Published on Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Free COVID-19 Testing Available at Scheduled Locations across Mississippi

Published on Monday, November 16, 2020

Rural renewal: Small-town medicine delivers for Indianola doc

Published on Monday, November 2, 2020

Delta Regional Medical Center is now Delta Health System

Published on Tuesday, September 8, 2020

UMMC, Oxford Baptist Memorial Receive Funds for Rural Health Projects

Published on Tuesday, August 25, 2020

Medicaid extends school-based emergency telehealth coverage

Published on Friday, August 21, 2020

State Board of Health Elects New Leadership

Published on Tuesday, August 18, 2020

Senator Hyde-Smith Supports Release of Covid-19 Emergency Funding for Rural Physician Training

Published on Monday, August 3, 2020

Rural Health Information Hub Offers Healthcare Surge Readiness Resources

Published on Wednesday, July 29, 2020

CDC Clinician On-Call Center Hotline

Published on Friday, July 17, 2020

HHS Provides Grants to Build Rural Dental and Nursing Workforce

Published on Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Veteran FP Expanding Mississippi Physician Pipeline

Published on Wednesday, June 10, 2020